Jason Thorpe Buchanan, composer


09.26.14: Announced winner of the International Iron Composer 5-hour Composition Competition in Cleveland, OH, with a prize of $1,000 and commission for the Blue Water Chamber Orchestra to be premiered in May, 2015! More information at www.ironcomposer.org

09.19.14: Appointed Executive Director of the Valencia International Performance Academy & Festival's Composition & Contemporary Music Program in Spain with faculty members Jorge Grossmann, Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, guest composer Augusta Read Thomas, artistic director/conductor Carlos Amat, and ensembles-in-residence Distractfold Ensemble (UK) and Nomos Group (Spain). Official site launch and call for scores coming soon!

06.13.14: Artist in Residence USF Verftet, Bergen City Council, Norway

04.18.14: 2014 Howard Hanson Orchestral Prize, Eastman School of Music.

03.31.14: 2014 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award.

03.25.14: Asymptotic Flux: First Study in Entropy selected for NYC Electroacoustic Music Festival, will be performed by the [Switch~ Ensemble] June 2.

03.17.14: Thrilled to announce a collaboration between myself and critically acclaimed writer Darcie Dennigan, poet-in-residence at the University of Connecticut, on our multimedia opera based upon Knut Hamsun's Sult.

01.23.14: Selected to write new works for Contemporary Opera Workshop at the Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (August 2014)

Tzlil Meudcan International Music Festival in Tel Aviv, Israel with Ensemble Nikel (July 2014)

Fiati 5 Wind Quintet at Chamber Music Campania in Italy (June 2014) as composer-in-residence.

10.04.13: Concert preview of ...durat(A)ions: "broken landscape" for Iktus Percussion at the Eastman School of Music.

09.10.13: Commission from Meir Rimon Commissioning Assistance Program of the International Horn Society to begin writing my Double Concerto for horn soloists Jeff Nelsen, Michael Walker and the Eastman Musica Nova Ensemble with conductor Brad Lubman.

09.09.13: Winner of the 4th Annual newEar Composers' Competition.

07.03.13: Excerpted from NewMusicBox: "Asymptotic Flux: First Study in Entropy by Jason Thorpe Buchanan is an unearthly collage of sounds. Though conceptually direct, the [result was] delightfully ambiguous: frantic joy could be as easily heard as extreme distemperment." www.newmusicbox.org/articles/2013-june-in-buffalo/

06.13: Commission from saxophonist Andrew Allen for Saxophone and Electronics utilizing texts by Bukowski, to be premiered at the World Saxophone Congress in Strasbourg in 2015.

03.13: Asymptotic Flux: Second Study in Entropy (Static Foxy Lump: [II] Second Nudist Tyre Pony, written for Alarm Will Sound, will be premiered at the Mizzou International Composers Festival in Columbia, MO July 2013


Any contribution is appreciated!

Jason Thorpe Buchanan's works have been described by critics and leading composers as "an unearthly collage of sounds", "sharply-edged", and "free jazz gone wrong", commissioned and performed internationally by ensembles such as Alarm Will Sound, Ensemble Interface (Germany), Ensemble Nikel (Israel), Ensemble Linea (France), Nonsemble 6, Iktus Percussion, the [Switch~ Ensemble], OSSIA New Music, the Fiati 5 (Italy), the Eastman Musica Nova Ensemble, and the TAD Wind Symphony (Japan), among others.
    Awarded a Fulbright Fellowship (2010-11) at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg (Germany) as a visiting scholar, he was selected as Artist-in-Residence by USF Verftet and the City Council of Bergen, Norway to complete work on the multimedia opera Hunger in 2015. Additional honors and awards include the ASCAP Morton Gould Award, Howard Hanson Orchestral Prize, newEar 4th Annual Composer's Competition, 2nd place in the American Prize, commissions from the Mizzou International Composers Festival, International Horn Society, Tzlil Meudcan Festival (Tel Aviv), Chamber Music Campania (Italy), German/American Fulbright-Kommission, selection for the Darmstadt Contemporary Opera Workshop, and the NYC Electroacoustic Music Festival. He has studied composition with Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, Carlos Sánchez-Gutiérrez, Robert Morris, Allan Schindler, Virko Baley, Peter Michael Hamel, Jorge Grossmann, Manfred Stahnke, Georges Aperghis, Brian Ferneyhough, Raphaël Cendo, Chaya Czernowin, Augusta Read Thomas, Hans Abrahamsen, Philippe Leroux, José María Sánchez-Verdú, and Pierluigi Billone, among others.
    He is Executive Director of the Valencia International Performance Academy & Festival's Composition & Contemporary Music Program (Spain), as well as conductor and artistic director of the Eastman Computer Music Center's ensemble-in-residence, the [Switch~ Ensemble] as a Ph.D. candidate at the Eastman School of Music, where he has served as course instructor in electronic music and composition, as well as assistant conductor for the Musica Nova Ensemble with conductor Brad Lubman. Current projects include Hunger, a multimedia opera with libretto by award-winning poet Darcie Dennigan, a work for saxophone and electronics to be premiered by Andrew J. Allen at the World Saxophone Congress (Strasbourg, 2015), a work for solo percussion and electronics to be premiered by Peter Ferry (Chicago, 2015), a commission from the Blue Water Chamber Orchestra as winner of Iron Composer 2014 to be premiered May 2015 in Cleveland, and a new work for Distractfold Ensemble to be premiered at the Valencia International Performance Academy & Festival (Spain, 2015).
(Click for full length bio)

[Curriculum Vitae]
(updated 09.03.14)

(view score)

(view score)

(view score)

(view score)

contact: jasontbuchanan {at} gmail.com