First Study for Alto Saxophone: doublethink (2012)

(recordings & information)
Commission: Michael Rene Torres, 2012 North American Saxophone Alliance conference
Winner, Belle S. Gitelman Award, Eastman School of Music
hunger score
Last updated April 11, 2017


Many of my works prior to 2011 have been withdrawn, some may be available upon request.
Please contact me with any questions: jasontbuchanan {at}
Hunger (Part III, 2014-15)
two sopranos, baritone, alto fl., bass cl., baritone sax, elec gtr, perc., pno, vln, vc, elec., & video

(recordings & information)
Workshop Performance: Darmstadt/Interface
Concert Premiere: The Industry/wildUp
Staged Premiere: the [Switch~ Ensemble]
soliloquios del viento (2016)
six voices, bass fl., bass cl., tenor sax, perc., pno., vln, vla, and vc

(recordings & information)
Commission: Voix Nouvelles de la Fondation Royaumont
Premiere: Talea Ensemble + Exaudi
gimme shelter (2015)
three percussionists, electronics, and video

(recordings & information)
Commission: Eklekto Percussion
Premiere: Ekelekto Percussion
hunger fragments (2015)
for sixteen solo voices

(recordings & information)
Commission: NY Virtuoso Singers
Premiere: NY Virtuoso Singers
walkside, lost (2015)
three percussionists, electronics, and video

(recordings & information)
Commission: Gaudeamus Muziekweek
Premiere: Slagwerk Den Haag
Double Concerto (2014)
for Two Horns and Chamber Orchestra Perc-

(recordings & information)
Commission: International Horn Society
Premiere: Eastman Musica Nova Ensemble, Brad Lubman, Jeff Nelsen, Mike Walker
Winner, 2015 ASCAP Morton Gould Award
de/ter| |ior.ation (2015)
for chamber orchestra

(recordings & information) Commission: Blue Water Chamber Orchestra as winner of Iron Composer
Premiere: Blue Water Chamber Orchestra
Asymptotic Flux: Second Study in Entropy (2013) Perc-

(recordings & information)
Written for Alarm Will Sound
Winner, 2014 ASCAP Morton Gould Award
Winner, Howard Hanson Orchestral Prize, 2014
Nominee, Gaudeamus Prize, 2015
antistasis (2014)
tenor saxophone, percussion, and piano

(recordings & information)
Commission: Tzlil Meudcan International Contemporary Music Festival
Premiere: Ensemble Nikel
oggetti I (2014)
wind quintet

(recordings & information) Commission: Chamber Music Campania
Premiere: Fiati 5 Wind Quintet
Asymptotic Flux: First Study in Entropy (2012)
bass clarinet, violin, viola, cello, & electronics

(recordings & information)
Co-commissioned by OSSIA and the [Switch~ Ensemble]
Winner, 2013 newEar Fourth Annual Composers' Competition
...durat(A)ions: "broken landscape" (2013)
percussion quartet

(recordings & information)
Commission: Iktus Percussion
Premiere: Iktus Percussion
Second Study for Alto Saxophone, Video, and Electronics: pulp (2015)

(recordings & information)
Co-Commission: Matt Evans, Casey Grev, Emily Loboda, Marta Tiesenga, & Sean Fredenburg
Premiere: Matt Evans, World Saxophone Congress
Click to view score sample.
Please contact me with any questions,
including rental/purchase information: jasontbuchanan {at}