(Scroll down for Online Application Form below)
Hong Kong New Music Ensemble
Founded in 2008, the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble (HKNME) is hailed as "one of Hong Kong's most progressive groups of musicians" (CNN). Widely praised for its innovative programming, the Ensemble's productions include concerts, educational outreach events, and interdisciplinary collaborations and research projects with artists from different artistic fields. The HKNME currently consists of fifteen core members who perform in versatile combinations in a variety of settings. Over the years, the HKNME has performed masterpieces of the contemporary repertoire as well as numerous premières by composers from Hong Kong and overseas, including many commissioned by the HKNME itself. More at hongkongnewmusic.org/ensemble
Duo Ostinato (France)
Duo Ostinato is a collaboration in which the demands of interpretation rub shoulders with the freedom of improvisation. Created in 2015, the group has quickly developed an important reputation internationally, performing in France, Germany, Austria, Italy, Finland, Hungary, Slovenia, the Netherlands, Japan, South Korea, China, Hong Kong, Taïwan, Australia and the USA. Marija Aupy (piano) and Philippe Geiss (saxophone), both passionate about chamber music, enrich their playing by seeking out new repertoires and creating a dialogue between musical styles. Step by step, they have developed a "crossover" language of their own. More at duo-ostinato.com/
Jason Thorpe Buchanan (Mahidol U, [Switch~ Ensemble], Fulbright Fellow)
Jason Thorpe Buchanan is an American composer, Artistic Director of the [Switch~ Ensemble], & Lecturer in Composition, Theory, and Electronic Music at Mahidol University. Commissions & international performances include work with Alarm Will Sound, Talea, Interface (DE), Nikel (Israel), Linea (FR), Insomnio (NL), EXAUDI (UK), Slagwerk Den Haag (NL), Eklekto (CH), Mivos, Iktus, Blue Water Chamber Orchestra, The Industry, wild Up, & Eastman Musica Nova. Scenes from his multimedia opera "Hunger" have received performances at Darmstadt, The Industry's FIRST TAKE in L.A., & MATA in NYC. Honors include a Fulbright, nomination for the Gaudeamus Prize, fellowships, residencies, and commissions from Royaumont, AiR USF Verftet (Norway), ASCAP Morton Gould (2014 & 15), Howard Hanson Orchestral Prize, winner of Iron Composer, and AiR Embassy of Foreign Artists, Switzerland. He holds a Ph.D. from the Eastman School of Music, served as Executive Director of the VIPA Festival (Spain, 2015-17), and as assistant conductor for the Musica Nova Ensemble with Brad Lubman at Eastman. More at jasonthorpebuchanan.com
Nina C. Young (UT Austin, Ensemble Échappé, Rome Prize Fellow)
New York-based composer Nina C. Young writes music characterized by an acute sensitivity to tone color, manifested in aural images of vibrant, arresting immediacy. Young's works have been presented at Carnegie Hall, the National Gallery, the Whitney, & LA Phil's Next on Grand, garnering international acclaim through performances by ACO, Inscape Orchestra, the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, the Phoenix Symphony, Orkest de ereprijs, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Argento, Divertimento, Either/Or, JACK Quartet, mise-en, Scharoun, Sixtrum, wild Up, & Yarn/Wire. Winner of the 2015-16 Rome Prize, Young has also received a Koussevitzky Commission from the Library of Congress, a Civitella-Ranieri Fellowship, a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Salvatore Martirano Memorial Award, and Aspen's Jacob Druckman Prize. A graduate of McGill and MIT, Nina completed her DMA at Columbia University. Nina is an Assistant Professor of Composition and Director of Electronic Music at UT Austin, and Visiting Composer at Peabody Institute. More at ninacyoung.com
Tonia Ko (University of Chicago, Guggenheim Fellow)
Tonia Ko's creative evolution is guided by three conceptual pillars: texture, physical movement, & the relationship between melody & memory, permeating her works across a variety of media. Recipient of a 2018 Guggenheim Fellowship, Ko's music has been lauded by The New York Times for its "captivating" details & "vivid orchestral palette." She has been commissioned by leading soloists & ensembles, performed at Walt Disney Concert Hall, Carnegie Hall, Kennedy Center, Tanglewood, Aspen, Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Royaumont, Shanghai Conservatory, TICF, and by the Minnesota Orchestra, New York Youth Symphony, Wild Up, Da Capo Chamber Players, Spektral, Grossman Ensemble. Ko has received grants & awards from Harvard University's Fromm Foundation, CMA, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, & BMI, as well as residencies at MacDowell, Copland House, Kimmel Harding Nelson, Djerassi, and was 2015-2017 Composer-in-Residence for Young Concert Artists. She holds a D.M.A. from Cornell University, and served as the 2018-19 Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Chicago. More at toniako.com
Composition Academy Faculty:
Online Application Form:
Gregor A. Mayrhofer, guest conductor
Gregor A. Mayrhofer has served as assistant of Sir Simon Rattle at the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and part of the Karajan Academy, and assistant conductor of the Ensemble Intercontemporain in Paris in 201. He conducted his debut in the Paris Philharmony in 2016 and in the Cologne Philharmony in 2017. Mr. Mayrhofer has worked with the SWR Symphonieorchester, Romanian State Philharmony, North Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Ensemble Modern Akademie and the Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra, both as a conductor and composer. He has been commissioned as a composer by the Bayerische Staatsoper München, graduating from Juilliard in 2017 after having studied orchestral conducting with Alan Gilbert. More at gregor-a-mayrhofer.de