all-forgetting-is-retrieval (2019)

septet, augmented conductor, and electronics

Commissioned by Thailand New Music & Arts Symposium

surface, tension (2018)

two performers and electronics

Commissioned by the Embassy of Foreign Artists

soliloquios del viento (2017)

sextet or septet and electronics

Commissioned by Royaumont, sextet version for Ensemble Interface


sinfonietta and electronics

Commissioned by the Earle Brown Music Foundation & TIME SPANS Festival for Talea


soprano, octet, and electronics

Commissioned by Royaumont Ensemble Voix Nouvelles

soliloquios del viento (2016)

octet and six singers

Commissioned by Royaumont for the Talea Ensemble+EXAUDI

walkside, lost (2015)

trio and electronics

Commissioned by Gaudeamus Muziekweek

Second Study for Alto Saxophone, Video, and Electronics: pulp (2015)

solo and electronics

Commissioned by Matt Evans, Casey Grev, Emily Loboda, Marta Tiesenga, & Sean Fredenburg

HUNGER (Part III) (2015)

octet, three singers, and electronics

Commissioned by Darmstadt Contemporary Opera Workshop & The Industry, L.A.

hunger fragments (2015)

sixteen solo voices

Commissioned by The New York Virtuoso Singers

gimme shelter (2015)

trio and electronics

Commissioned by Eklekto Percussion Geneva

de/ter|       |ior.ation (2015)

chamber orchestra

Commissioned by the Blue Water Chamber Orchestra as winner of Iron Composer 2014

oggetti 1 (2014)


Commissioned by Chamber Music Campania (Italy) & Fiati 5 Wind Quintet

Double Concerto for Two Horns and Chamber Orchestra (2014)

two horns and chamber orchestra

Commissioned by the International Horn Society for the Eastman Music Nova Ensemble, Jeff Nelsen, Mike Walker, and Brad Lubman

antistasis (2014)


Commissioned by Tzlil Meudcan International Contemporary Music Festival for Ensemble Nikel

...durat(A)ions: 'broken landscape' (2013)

percussion quartet

Commissioned by Iktus Percussion

Asymptotic Flux: Second Study in Entropy (2013)


Commissioned by the Mizzou International Composers Festival for Alarm Will Sound

First Study for Alto Saxophone: doublethink (2012)


Commissioned by Michael Rene Torres for the 2012 North American Saxophone Alliance Conference

Asymptotic Flux: First Study in Entropy (2012)

quartet and electronics

Co-commissioned by the Switch~ Ensemble and OSSIA
Please contact me with any questions, including rental/purchase information: jasontbuchanan {at}